ponchishe boisakh 1419

Today is Rabindranath Tagore’s birthday. Well, I will have to admit that his poems have touched me so deeply for better that I have immense gratitude for him. So celebrating his birthday is one of my annual celebrations.

He was an amazing talent, I have read so many of his poems, hundreds of them still their beauty bowls me over again and again. He was a poet, a phillosopher, a sage, an educationist and so many other things.

My relationship is with his poetry and songs mainly. He has left a treasure trove of poems, songs, dance dramas for us, they are so amazing that its impossible to explain them in another language, to taste them in their true sense one will have to learn bengali or be bengali. They are based in this world yet they bear divine, ethereal charm.

I am really glad that he was born and I am Bengali so I can feel his poems accurately.

This is my clumsy translation of a poem cum song written by him i adore with all my heart (Jethay thake sabar adham):

Your feet dwells
Where the lowest of the low dwells
In the lowest place of all
With Those without anything at all
When I lower my head at your feet
It stops somewhere midway
It cant reach the place
That lowest of low place
Where your feet dwells

My arrogance cant reach you
Down there where you dwell
Like the poorest of poor
Amongst the poorest of poor
I seek your company
Sitting on my pile of wealth
Surrounded by loved ones
But my heart never reaches
Down there where you dwell
Amongst those without anyone
Amongst those without anything

I LOVE TO READ AND RETURN COMMENTS. SOME OF MY READERS DONT LEAVE URL, IF THEY START LEAVING URL I WILL JUST LOVE TO READ THEIR WORKS TOO.

