The Thursday Post 03.01.13

Another priceless thing that India has and is being ruined mercilessly is its oldest language Sanskrit.

Any Indian who has heard it knows how sweet this language is, it’s a sad affair, truly sad affair that if a Muslim wants to learn Urdu, Arabic he can, but if he or anyone else wants to learn Sanskrit properly he will have to take real toil, and his parents will have to be interested too, because it will have to start early, it’s a time consuming affair.

Indian schools do teach Sanskrit but no one learns anything from those classes, and the prime example of its being true is if you want to study Sanskrit in any normal town or city side by side your studies no one will be available to teach you. Whereas I remember my brother had to learn Urdu and Farsi when he joined Aligarh Muslim University and he could get a teacher in a tiny town almost no one has heard of Tundla.

Now, why are we Indians so double standard? We can learn foreign languages like French, German side by side our academic/ career oriented studies but not Sanskrit, why can’t we respect our own oldest heritage?

This thing really ticks me off because ever since I was sixteen I have tried to learn this language.

Not only that, the priceless literature written in this language have been destroyed, quite a large proportion because of negligence- they were written in leaves of a specific tree mostly and were quite a delicacy to worms, as a result they were allowed to get devoured. I wonder how many without a copy!

6 thoughts on “The Thursday Post 03.01.13

  1. I so agree with your thought, not only Sanskrit, any Indian language for that matter, is just simply waning away, perhaps not even voluntarily. I too am on a similar quest, I am by root a Kannadiga and come from a Konkani speaking family, but I cant read or write in these languages, I also have been living out of the box my entire life, and I really feel, that we need to get back to our languages, after all, there’s so much to know just here. The outside world is just a temptation wrapped attractively.

    • i am lucky that i know bengali and hindi well. bengali is my mother tongue and i just dote on bengali literature 🙂
      i believe in a healthy balance of indian and western culture- both cultures have very strong virtues and extremely strong vices, one should select with caution and try to make best of one’s life.

I LOVE TO READ AND RETURN COMMENTS. SOME OF MY READERS DONT LEAVE URL, IF THEY START LEAVING URL I WILL JUST LOVE TO READ THEIR WORKS TOO.

